Honor Roll

The Japan Academy Prize

Name	Year	Title	Award for
KON Yutaka	1934 *Imperial Academy Prize	Professor	Research on silver reaction of cells
SHIRATO Hiroki	2022	Professor	Biomedical and Engineering Research on Real-time Tumor Tracking Radiotherapy/Particle Beam Therapy against Cancer

Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon

Name	Year	Title	Award for
HIRAI Hidematsu	1981	Professor	Immunochemical studies on cancer
KOBAYASHI Hiroshi	1990	Professor	Pathology research

Imperial Invention Prize

Name	Year	Title	Award for
SHIRATO Hiroki	2017	Professor	Development of a real-time tumor-tracking particle beam therapy system

Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology Award

Name	Year	Title	Award for
SHIRATO Hiroki	2015 (13th award)	Professor	Development and promotion of a real-time tumor-tracking proton beam therapy system for pinpoint irradiation of tumors in motion

Hokkaido Science and Technology Award

Name	Year	Title	Award for
ITO Shinji	1967 (8 th award)	Professor	Research on the mechanism of biological metabolic regulation and development in other new fields
WAKABAYASHI Masaru	1970 (11th award)	Professor	New technological development in cancer radiation therapy
TAKAKUWA Eimatsu	1976 (17th award)	Professor	Contribution to enhanced wellbeing in Hokkaido through the development of equipment to evaluate the Function of Concentration Maintenance (TAF)
HIRAI Hidematsu	1980 (21st award)	Professor	Contribution to the development of medical technology through experimental studies on alpha-fetoprotein
AIZAWA Miki	1987 (28th award)	Professor	Contribution to the development of medical science and technology through international pioneering studies on HLA
YASUDA Hisakazu	1990 (31st award)	Professor	Contribution to medical development through initiatives including work to enable early detection of ischemic heart disease
MATSUMOTO Shuzo	1992 (33rd award)	Professor	Contribution to medical development through initiatives including the development of diagnostic criteria for immune deficiency syndromes
MIYAZAKI Tamotsu	1992 (33rd award)	Directors of Medical Hospital	Contribution to medical development through initiatives including the establishment of foundations to prevent tumor recurrence by suppressing tumor cell growth and avoid the development of immunodeficiency diseases
OSATO Toyoro	1994 (35th award)	Professor	Contribution of medical development and enhanced wellbeing in Hokkaido through studies on the mechanism of virus-induced human oncogenesis
KAWAKAMI Yoshikazu	1997 (38th award)	Professor	Contribution to medical development through initiatives including work to enable home oxygen therapy
YOSHIKI Takashi	2004 (45th award)	Professor Emeritus	Development and analysis of an animal model of human T-cell leukemia virus type 1 (HTLV-1) infection
MINAMI Akio	2008 (49th award)	Professor	Contribution to the development of basic and clinical research on upper-limb surgery
ASAKA Masahiro	2010 (51st award)	Professor	Proposal of a new approach for the elimination of gastric cancer fatalities in Japan
SEYA Tsukasa	2013 (54th award)	Professor	A novel pathway for dendritic cell priming: discovery and application to anti-tumor immunotherapy
SHIRATO Hiroki	2014 (55th award)	Professor	Development of and clinical studies on high-precision photon beam therapy and particle beam therapy using stereotactic irradiation, real-time tumor-tracking and other technologies
NISHIMURA Masaharu	2018 (59th award)	Professor Emeritus	Global contribution to research on chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and awareness-raising activities in Japan
MATSUI Yoshiro	2019 (60th award)	Professor Emeritus	Development of new surgical treatment for severe cardiac failure and resumption of heart transplantations in Hokkaido
SHIMIZU Hiroshi	2020 (61st award)	Professor Emeritus	Elucidation of the pathophysiology of intractable congenital skin diseases and the development of new treatments for such disorders
AKITA Hirotoshi	2021 (62nd award)	Professor	Development of personalized cancer treatment using companion diagnostics and the construction of cancer genome precision medicine
TESHIMA Takanori	2022 (63rd award)	Professor	Development of a saliva-based COVID-19 diagnostic test

Past and Deans an Director

Education a Research System

Campus

14

